Randall Ruback  Musician, Educator, Composer, Writer
Achievements of the Students of Randall Ruback


Matt Brusseau
: Winner of the 2007 UW-Milwaukee Youth Wind Ensemble II (UWAY) Concerto Competition. BFA Music Education, UW-Milwaukee 2014.

Tim Holdmann
: Youngest member ever accepted to the Milwaukee Youth Symphony Junior Wind Ensemble (age 10). First Young Artist for the Getzen Musical Instrument Company (age 12) - Doc Severinson is the Getzen Senior Artist. Second chair, Milwaukee Senior Symphony Orchestra (age 14). Principal MYSO Senior Orchestra (age 16). Winner of three first prizes, Jazz Unlimited Scholarship. 2006 State winner National Taps Competition. First prize high school soloist scholarship winner, Bob Kames Foundation 2007 Jazz Festival. Second prize high school soloist scholarship winner, Bob Kames Foundation 2008 Jazz Festival.


Matt Davison
: Winner of the 2002 UWAY I Concerto Competition. Winner of the UW-Madison Four-Year Scholarship ’02. B.M. in Performance, Indiana University - Winner of a $50,000 scholarship (one of two freshmen accepted nationally and internationally at Indiana University for tuba in 2002).

Glen Dimick
: By invitation, as a high school senior, performed the Vaughan Williams Tuba Concerto at the National Tuba Conference in Washington, D.C. Winner of the 1996 UW-Milwaukee Youth Wind Ensemble I (UWAY) Concerto Competition. Winner of the 1996 North Shore Concert Band Concerto Competition. National High School Honors Orchestra 1996. Winner of the UW-Madison Four-Year Scholarship 1996. Substitute tuba, Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra. B.M. Performance, Indiana University (one of two freshmen accepted nationally and internationally at Indiana University for tuba in 1996); M.M. Performance, De Paul University; D.M. Performance, Indiana University (sole doctoral candidate accepted nationally and internationally at Indiana University for tuba in 2005). Quoted by Daniel Perantoni, professor of tuba and euphonium at Indiana University: "I just love Glen. He is an absolute joy to teach. If your next student at Indiana is even half as good as Glen is, I'll be thrilled." He has performed as tubist with the Indianapolis, Louisville, Camerata, Rockford, Lafayette, and Racine Symphony Orchestras, and has served as Adjunct Professor of Tuba at Murray State University. In addition, he has been on the tuba faculty at the Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp in Twin Lake, Michigan, as well as a private low brass instructor for the suburban high schools in Chicago. He is currently Adjunct Lecturer of Tuba and Euphonium at the Jacobs School of Music at Indiana University, and Professor of Tuba at Indiana State University and the University of Indianapolis. He is a founding member of the Mirari Brass Quintet, and is currently principal tubist for the Terre Haute Symphony Orchestra and the Columbus Indiana Philharmonic.

Nick Schmit: U.S. Navy Band; Vandercook University.

David Knapp: Scholarship to University of Minnesota, tuba studies under Stephen Campbell. First chair UW-Milwaukee Youth Wind Ensemble 2006. First chair State Honors Band 2006.


Jesse Barta: Trombone, Staff Sgt., and Drum Major for the U.S. Marine Band in San Diego. Study at American Military University.
He has performed for three presidents, and his many awards include the Navy/Marine Corps Achievement Medal, the Presidential Unit Citation, the Meritorious Unit Commendation with two bronze stars, and the Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal.

Bergen Carlson
: Performed with the Disney Young Musicians Orchestra (age 14). Winner of the 2003 UWAY I Concerto Competition. Runner up MYSO Philharmonia Concerto Competition 2002.

Nat Esten
: Soon to attend Indiana University fall 2016. North American Brass Band Association Solo Competition First (2016). Finalist, Milwaukee Symphony Young Artist Competition (2016) - only brass player selected. National High School Honors Band 2015 (first chair, performed at Carnegie Hall, NY). Coached by Pete Ellefson, UW-Whitewater 'Trombone Day' (2015). 4th chair, State Honors Band (6th grade); first chair; State Honors Band (7th, 10th, 11th, 12th grade); first chair, State Honors Orchestra (eighth grade); first chair State Honors Jazz Band (9th and 11th grade). One Star Class A State Solo Ensemble 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016.

Ron Knaflic: B.M. Performance, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, under Steve Wiest. Production Coordinator for the Edwards Instrument Company since 2000.

Matt Miller: Quoted by Eliot Chasanov, professor of trombone: “Matt is the finest freshman trombonist I’ve ever auditioned” at the U. of I. Urbana-Champaign. B.M. (with a double major in Engineering and Music), UW-Madison. Member: Dirty Dozen Brass Band.

Jonathan Terrasi: Exclusive student of 5 1/2 years. B.M. Performance, Northwestern University (with Michael Mulcahy 2012). Member of New Chicago Brass. Former Second trombone (two years) Civic Orchestra of Chicago. Former principal trombone, Classical Symphony Orchestra, Chicago. Principal trombone, Milwaukee Youth Symphony Senior Orchestra 2007-2008. Principal trombone, UWM Youth Wind Ensemble I 2006-2008. Lead trombone, UWM Youth Jazz Ensemble I 2006-2008. Principal trombone, State Honors Band 2007-2008. Outstanding Jazz Musicianship Award, New Trier High School Jazz Festival 2008.

Kevin West: Winner, Snohomish District, State Solo Ensemble.

Jared Bechler: Majoring in music composition at UW-Oshkosh.


David Shaw
: Currently Band Director at Kentwood High School, Kent, Washington. Formerly band director at Beloit High School, Beloit, Wisconsin. Youngest member ever accepted to UWAY I (age 15). Winner, 2001 UWAY I Concerto Competition. B.M. in Performance, Indiana University, where he was awarded the largest merit scholarship available - the Faculty Music Award (one of two freshmen accepted nationally and internationally at Indiana University for euphonium in 2001). David was also ranked third euphonium out of 20 at his I.U. freshman year ensemble audition. M.M. in Conducting (anticipated), UW-Milwaukee.

Select Participants in Master Classes with

Joe Alessi
, principal trombonist of the New York Philharmonic; Ron Barron, principal trombonist of the Boston Symphony; Pete Ellefson, Indiana University; Scott Hartman, trombonist with the Empire Brass Quintet; Kevin Hartman, trumpet UW-Milwaukee/Chicago Symphony; and Don Lucas, professor of trombone Boston U., and president of the ITA

2006-2008 Youth Ensembles Sampler
Randall Ruback  Musician, Educator, Composer, Writer